Book Week 2009

It probably was an official book week somewhere in the world.  Regardless of sanction, however, I decided that this past week would be my very own, unofficial, and therefore amazing,

Book Week 2009

Mostly, this consisted of me finishing one book per day because the pile on our coffee table was getting to who-ville-esque particolored heights and defied the laws of physics with its whompous leaning.

I will now give you the most respected books which had the honor of my reading of them, and I will then describe them each in seven words or less.  (Hey, we all know brevity is part of the writing method of the 21st century:  that, punctuation binges, and the one sentence “paragraph.”)

Like this one.

 

Day One: Life of Pi by Yann Martel

life-of-pi

Animals and boy on boat. Or not.

 

Day Two: The Shop on Blossom Street by Debbie Macomber

blossom

Random women knit together.  Double-meaning there.

 

Day Three: Eats, Shoots and Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation by Lynne Truss

eats

Know what’s an interrobang?  I do now.

 

Day Four: Cannery Row by John Steinbeck

cannery-row

American genius.  Small plot; perfect characters, details.

 

Day Five: Evolution, Me and Other Freaks of Nature by Robin Brande

evolution

Teen walks line between religion and science. (YA novel)

 

Day Six: Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

northanger-abbey-f61118l

Who knew she could be that funny?

 

Day Seven: Stubborn Twig: Three Generations in the Life of a Japanese American Family by Lauren Kessler

twig

Japanese struggle in Oregon.   よい仕事、人々! 

 

And now I can finally finish these at the slower pace they deserve:

Uncle Fred in the Springtime by P.G. Wodehouse

uncle-fred

Quirky British familial strife over pig continues…

 

Possession: A Romance by A.S. Byatt

possession

Booker Prize.  Masses rave.  Reader’s Disappointment Risk = 0

 

4 Comments

Filed under Hobbies and Such

4 responses to “Book Week 2009

  1. Raven

    You should start your own website devoted to Haiku-like reviews. They’re great! And really, they say it all. Love the Life of Pi one especially.
    Pinto: You know, maybe I will… That’s a really good idea! We could do one together!

  2. Favorite post by Bookworm Hero ever. GENIUS.

    Pinto: So…I read that and the first thing in my head was a mythical video game called “Bookworm Hero” a la “Guitar Hero”…and I’m still not quite sure how you’d play it…

  3. Sherrie

    Finally something that can take the place of the ?!?!?!?!?. It was so cumbersome to type all of those out each time. My fingers were constantly tired. Now if only there were a key on the actual keyboard…hmmmm.

    Also, there is a recent Masterpiece Theater version of Northanger Abbey that’s quite fun; nothing worthy of an Oscar, but enjoyable nonetheless. I would recommend it for a movie-date-reason to eat snacks-night at home.

    http://www.amazon.com/Masterpiece-Theatre-Northanger-JJ-Field/dp/B000Z27HLS

    Pinto: Blala! I love the new masterpiece theater Jane Austen’s. I haven’t seen N.A. yet. I’ll have to track a copy down. I did think the Captain Wentworth in “Persuasion” was the new hottie hot hotness. This, of course, was before I married Captain Wentworth 2.0.

  4. Pingback: “The Haiku Review” continues… « Pinto’s Beans

Leave a Reply

