We Have A Family Pet

It’s an octopus?

Yep.  Atticus accidentally caught a baby octopus during field work and decided to bring it back with him and nurse it to adulthood.  His own little mollusk.  He’s totally in love with it.

He comes home with octo-updates.

“It* turned pink then brown then got all spikey!  It’s so cool.”

“It ate three shore crabs today!  The little cutie.”

“I want to give it a present–make an octopus palace!  Do you think it would like a squeaky toy?”

“I moved it into the octo-condo today–totally inked me.  I hope inking doesn’t hurt it.”

As for me, I content myself with viewing the competition for my husband’s affection every two weeks or so.  And, despite my jealousy, I can’t help but think it’s actually a pretty cool pet to have.

I mean, it really does turn pink, then brown, then spikey!  Bet your pets never did that.

Booya.

*Atticus has decreed that we cannot name the octopus because “that is exactly when cool things die.”

6 Comments

Filed under Family, Funny Story, Matrimanity

6 responses to “We Have A Family Pet

  1. peregrine

    “that is exactly when cool things die.”

    Also, Audrey in Breakfast at Tiffany’s called the cat, “Cat.” And I don’t think that’s a bad precedent to follow.

  2. You just have the coolest life.

  3. Megan

    “Guuuuuys. You made me ink!”

    -That has got to be the coolest thing I’ve ever heard.

    Can you guys get me a stingray?

  4. Kent

    I think I would want a pet skunk. But an octopus is a close second.

  5. Um, I don’t care much for marine life, and the more tentacles and suction cuppy things it’s got the less I care for it. I must admit I might have nightmares about this, but I am infinitely relieved that your pet does not actually live in your house. On another note, congratulations on your growing family!

  6. Pingback: Two Things « Pinto’s Beans

Leave a Reply

