(The) Summer (of) Reading

So.   You all know how I love to read.

Since I pseudo-resigned from PW reviewing I’ve been on a binge of summer reading–mostly because I got tripped out on the idea I could read anything I wanted to and I didn’t have to read a book about a snowglobe/lusty-virginalChristianWWIRomance/gothic-southern-time-travel/how-chocolate-brought-me-to-Jesus book.

So.

Thus far, in the past two weeks, I’ve read

1. My Life in France by Julia Child.    Love!  Especially the first half.  Actually, I’d recommend only reading the first half.  The second half is about publishing a cook book…not as funny as reading about fantastically awkward French faux pas by a gangly, chipper American woman.  I just sat on the couch laughing/chuckling/giggling.  That Julia Child woman–she’s a wit!  It was awesome.

2.  Queen Bees and Wannabees:  Helping Your Daughter Survive Cliques, Gossip, Boyfriends, and Other Realities of Adolescence by Rosalind Wiseman.  I “read” this book just like I’d “read” books in grad school.  Some fantastic stuff in it.  I got it after watching Mean Girls and learning the movie’s entire premise was based on this single book.  I think I’d like it more if I was actually approaching motherhood to a teen girl since most of it was helpful advice and tips on communication. But, no regrets here!  Glad I got it.

3. A Dictionary of Women in Scripture.  Okay, so I haven’t read the whole thing, but I’ve gone through a good chunk of it (namely, especially, the fantastic 5+ page entries on Eve, Asherah, Jephthah’s Daughter, Rachel, Rebekah, Miriam, Mary x 7, Deborah, Jael, Hannah, Dinah…well…I’ll just stop).  I saw it in the library book sale and about had an apoplectic seizure of pure lust/joy.  Four bucks for this gem!  Four bucks for 800 pages of pure amazing perfect wonderfulness!

4.  Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood.  Holy. crud.  This book had my brain going a million miles an hour for three days straight.  I could not put the thing down!  I would close the book at 11pm when I couldn’t keep my eyes open, and then proceed to blabber about it in very excitable tones to poor, tired Paul for another hour since he was a captive audience.  It’s so amazing!!! It made my brain explode in so many good ways!  It had THE BEST ending I’ve ever read in recent memory! “Zero hour.  It’s time to go”  BRILLIANT!  Thank you Newsweek summer reading recommendations!

And now, onto my next two:

5.  Mennonite in a Little Black Dress by Rhoda Janzen.  If I thought My Life in France was funny, I had somethin’ coming.  At 10:45 last night I got in bed and thought, “Meh…I’ll just take a peek at the table of contents.”  Right, like that ever happens.  Okay.  I’ve never laughed as hard when reading a book as I did in just that first chapter.  I’m not exaggerating in the least.  I had to leave the room I was laughing so hard.  I can’t wait to get home tonight so I can laugh and laugh and laugh some more.

6.  The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larson.  I’ve heard so much about how everyone loves Larson’s series that I had to give it a go…though I am apprehensive about the whole murder/mystery/thriller aspect of it.  Sounds scarrryyyy….but at least I know that it isn’t literarily scary.  Those are the scariest books of all  (I’m looking at you Snowglobe/Romance/ChristianMystery book).

6 Comments

Filed under Conspicuously Overwhelming Note, Hobbies and Such

6 responses to “(The) Summer (of) Reading

  1. Awesome. Just added a book or two to my to-read list. (Expexially that snowglobe one. Sounds awesome.)

  2. Sarah

    Hey, I can give you an entire Margaret Atwood reading list if you want! After the Flood, her most recent, is a follow-up (but not a sequel!) to Oryx & Crake. As for my favorites, it’s a tie between The Blind Assassin and The Robber Bride. And Cat’s Eye and The Handmaid’s Tale. And her poetry’s not bad either…you get the picture. :-) She’s my literary hero.

    I’m on the third Lizbeth Salander book. It reminds me of the DaVinci Code in that the writing (or at least the translation) stinks, but the story is so engaging.

  3. Pinto

    Whoa! Thank you for the recs! I’m going to go check out After the Flood today! And a Salander book. Would you recommend starting with the third one?

  4. Sherrie

    I just recently read “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.” So lovely. I think I’m a little behind because I believe it’s been on the NY Times list for awhile, but….if you haven’t checked it out yet, you should.”)

    Also good: the Laurie R. King series about Sherlock Holmes in his later years and his super-awesome female partner. The first book is called “The Beekeepers Apprentice.”

  5. Pinto

    Alright! That settles it! I have to read “The GLaPPPS” for sure. I think this is the 8th rec I’ve gotten for it!

  6. Sarah

    Oh no, read the Salander books in sequence. There is essential information in the first.

Leave a Reply

