I’m liking my job

I like my job a lot.  In fact, I could say that I love my job.

I don’t know if this will translate with anyone, but I love how I can make things that look beautiful–make things that show what our Earth looks like.

I can take a data-gathering flight in 2005–a flight that scanned a laser over the ground and sent me a massive text file with millions of entries that look like “2.4567, 1, 9876.”

Then I can take that little text file and make this:

A "bare_earth" LIDAR scan

You may think that this image is pretty boring, but I can go from here to make hundreds of beautiful, colorful images showing a little piece of the earth.  And let me tell you, nature can be really beautiful:

Decimeter contour lines of my research marshes: but that title doesn't sounds as pretty as the image looks on its own.

2 Comments

Filed under Hobbies and Such

2 responses to “I’m liking my job

  1. Laura

    now THAT is amazing!

  2. Pingback: Six Month « Pinto's Beans

Leave a Reply

