Hair

If I had a time machine, I would love to go back five years and meet myself for a cup of tea somewhere.  After some chit-chat about continuum and weather, I would say, “Guess what, Pinto of the Past?”

And then I would say, “I don’t know.  What, Pinto of the Future?

And then I would say, “In 5 years, you’re going to walk into a hair salon and essentially ask them to give you your second grade bangs back.”   And then I would whip out this picture (as if I couldn’t actually remember what my second grade bangs looked like).

Mom...how could you?

And then I would laugh insanely.  Because that would be crazy talk, right?

But here’s the thing.  It’s all true.  The salon.  The bangs.  Well, I didn’t bring in this picture and say, “Give me second grade bangs!” but…after the fact… I realized that that’s pretty much exactly what I did last Wednesday.

But here’s the crazier thing.  It actually looks good!

So, for a brief overview of my hair history, I’ve essentially explored all mix-and-match combos of the following:

* Mid-back length, LONG hair

*Regular long hair

* Shoulder length hair

* Second Grade Bangs

* Ugly, ugly, single big curl bangs

* Swoop bangs

* No bangs

But, if we’re focusing in on only the past decade, I’ve pretty much either looked like this:

Hello! I went to Europe and chopped my hair off because I wanted to be SABRINA and Harrison Ford would LOVE ME! Yay Europe!

Or this:

And just in case you wanted to know, this will forever be my favorite picture of myself ever taken. Forever and ever, amen.

Well, a decade is a long time to have two hair looks so last week I decided it was time for “something new.”  And I didn’t really have an exact idea what that new thing was going to be when I walked into that salon last week.

But, when I walked out, I felt like I had just been so hair rebellious.  That I had declared my hair independence!  I was a HAIR ADULT now!

 

And then I realized...I must have just wanted to be a second grader again.

And don’t we all, at some level?

5 Comments

Filed under Funny Story, Hobbies and Such, The Oddness Within

5 responses to “Hair

  1. danosaur

    I love them. FurRILL. You are looking way hip.

  2. Pinto

    Well THANK you. Also, I should note that that last picture’s face is confused looking because I was trying to figure out how to take a picture with my laptop.

  3. I would use the adjective “sophisticated” to describe your current do. Also, “awesome.” Also, “that which makes me envious.”

  4. Pinto

    I use the word “Beth” as a synonym for “that which makes me envious”

  5. The Mom

    I love it! Classy!

Leave a Reply

